Summer 2013

I know that is not the catchiest title in the world, but it’s simple.

Hi, my name is Rachael.

I am from the heart of the Delta and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Some say I have a dialect, but it’s really just a twang that I’ve gotten from putting too much sugar in my sweet tea.

But really…

About two months ago, a day after I didn’t get any sleep (not surprising) I was at work, and I looked out the window and got an idea.

I should write a summer blog.

Now, I am not aspiring to become a writer nor do I aim to become an amazing blogger. I just have a really great feeling that this summer is going to be a special one, so I have started this to keep track of my adventures.

What adventures you may ask? Well I’ll tell you.

First. Next week I will be attending the NEW Leadership program at Mississippi University for Women (or what I like to call, “The W”). It will be a first for the state of MS and hosts approx. 35 college women from across the state.

Second. I’ll be going to the beach (-each). YAY

Third. I’ll be heading back to the W to work as a Residential Assistant (RA) and a Leadership Facilitator at the 2013 session of Mississippi Governor’s School (or in more casual terms, MGS).

Fourth. Visiting the ‘Burg for a few days.

Fifth. HOME… for just a few weeks.

Sixth. Internship in Hawaii! I’ll be working under the Workstar Injury Recovery Center and PT Hawaii, both located on the island of Oahu, with the marketing and business side of these organizations. (much more details to come) Plus– my beautiful cousin will be getting married at the end of my stay!

Seventh. HOME… to pack. Then off to school!

As you can see, I have a busy summer ahead.

Along the way I want to learn more about myself all around.That’s my main goal for this summer– self knowledge.

I just finished my sophomore year of college and am now half finished with my undergrad career (yikes). I think this would be a great turning point in my life to reflect on how far I’ve come in my twenty years of life and how much I still have to learn and figure out.

Because honestly? I still haven’t figured out what I want to do with my life.

Nope.

I’m a speech pathology and audiology major and a dance minor. Random much? Well, I’m a planner, and seeing that I have way too many interests, I have difficulty deciding what I want. I want to have a better jump start on this plan for my future, especially since I’ll have to apply to graduate schools in less than two years…oh boy

Now I know that everything does not have to be planned because those unexpected moments (like when you go to a sketch carnival one night with a friend and win a fish) are wonderful.

And these are the moments that I cannot wait to experience this summer.

(Also, I want to thank my friend Noe’ for coming up with such a unique blog name, because I definitely never could have thought of something that clever. You rock.)

Leave a Reply

