Lesson e’eryday

This past week has taught me much more than I thought it would.

I’ve witnessed, been a part of, or had to comfort several people who have been struggling with the MGS experience. By struggling, I mean they are not happy at the moment, are having trouble adjusting to being at MGS, need to share how they are feeling, feel uncomfortable, or something of the sorts.

Each situation has forced me to think out of the box and not just say “I understand”, because honestly, I didn’t and I still don’t. There’s no way for me to understand exactly what they are going through. No one goes through the same experiences. I can only try my best to listen and be there for them.

Sometimes, problems work themselves out on their own.

Sometimes we don’t get super lucky like that and they don’t. They require someone leading the group to observe what is happening, learn from it, and fix it.

Now, not every situation can be “fixed”. There will be times when you can’t fully solve the problem, but there are ways to make it better than before. It’s just a matter of believing in yourself to achieve your potential success.

At the moment, my team at MGS isn’t to the point of pushing their boundaries and exceeding their limits. I’m not saying we won’t get there by the end of MGS (because I really believe that we will), but first we need to “check ourselves”.

From Day 1 to now, my team has already grown immensely. I can tell. Seriously. However, we came to a small breaking point this weekend. We need to vocalize our opinions and views, so we can start fresh and make the most of our last two weeks.

We are not the first team to do this, nor will we be the last. Every amazing team has a “Come to Jesus” moment. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. It just means that you are willing to admit that something is wrong and it needs to change. We are going to do it, and it’s going to be awesome (crossing my fingers).

On the more personal level, this week I’ve been trusted with people’s secrets and their life problems. I have been thanked immensely for listening to what they have to say and even been called a “big sister”. This makes me feel great. I mean, I truly feel like I’m making a difference by supporting these people and being whoever they need me to be for them.

I try my best to make our scholars feel at home. MGS is one of the most safe places they can be. MGS is a place for breaking boundaries, being your true self, growing emotionally, finding a family, loving what you represent, and so much more. For the scholars that don’t know this by now, they will definitely know within the next 24 hours.

It’s about to get even more real, and I’m pretty sure I’m ready to see what amazing things are going to happen with this year’s group.

Leave a Reply

