Reach out and touch someone…

So I realize that I haven’t posted in a while. The last week of MGS was super crazy and left me more tired than a sloth.

After countless activities and writing affirmations, our 2013 session of MGS is complete. I am a bit in limbo, slightly similar to how I felt after my first session when I was a scholar.

No, I did not go straight home to an empty agenda and feeling hollow. I drove straight to Hattiesburg to reunite with many of my Delta Gamma sisters.

The Friday sunset

The Friday sunset

We spent our weekend trapped in our chapter house, for the most part, but really enjoyed each other’s company. In between preparing for fall recruitment, we ate lots of fries, caught up on each other’s lives, and even danced a little. After this past month of constant work, I was very excited to see all these girls that always make me feel better about myself. I felt like I was running on E toward the end of our workshop, but the dozen hours of sleep that I got last night totally made up for it.

Five Guys Burgers & Fries

Five Guys Burgers & Fries

The last week of MGS everyone (scholars, staff, faculty) writes affirmations.

af·fir·ma·tion: something declared to be true; a positive statement or judgement — thefreedictionary.com

Just like the other leadership facilitators, I educated my team about the importance of affirmations and how to write one. Once people write an affirmation, they deliver the notecard(s) to the receiver’s mailbox. No one is allowed to check their mailbox until they have officially checked out of the dorm and are about to leave campus on the final day of the program.

In writing my affirmations this year, I also found myself speaking the values of Delta Gamma in some of them. I feel like over my two years as a collegiate member of DG that I am starting to fully live its meaning and want to share it with others. I realize now how much my DG experience has touched me. The daily affirmations I receive from my sisters have helped shape me throughout college, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Back to written affirmations… these notes or letters or stories are treasured long after the program has ended. I, along with several others that I still keep in contact with, read my affirmations every once in a while and remember all the memories we made together.

My first year and this year I received a long letter from someone that I learned a lot from over the three weeks. From then to now, I can see how I have grown and the ways I was and am now thought of by those closest to me. These letters will always remain close to my heart. The one from three years ago, I guiltily still read because I can’t help but smile, and sometimes cry, while I’m reading it.

These two years worth of affirmations have made me cry. From beginning to end, this program and the wonderful people I have met there continue to change my life. Like I’ve mentioned before, this program has been a breeding ground for my personality, sense of responsibility, leadership skills and style, character, values, and so much more.

I would not be the same person without this program in my life.

Sadly, I believe this session will be my last… at least for a while.

So, what’s next after MGS? At the moment, I want to stay in Hattiesburg next summer, so I can work one job all season and maybe take some classes too. We shall see…

I won’t be in limbo for long (hopefully). The people from this program will come in and out of my life. Our paths will cross for many years, I’m sure of it. Some will be my best friends forever. A couple may be in my wedding one day. Maybe this is a time for me to continue to be passionate about the things I enjoy and the people I love dearly.

One thing I know will never change. I know I will always be able to call up one of these people for help, for advice, for a hug, to snuggle, to talk, to laugh, to cry, or to be a friend. And I will continue to reach out and touch others in the way that they have touched me.

Song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQJaZO2nfGg

 

 

Leave a Reply

