Zip lining

In the registration area, we heard our tour number called over the speaker system and drifted into the appropriate area. A nice lookin’ boy approached us, asked us our names, and told us to follow him.

Mom and I went zip lining. Yes zip lining.

We got lucky because we arrived ten minutes before an open tour. We were also pretty lucky that the other people who were supposed to be a part of our tour didn’t show up. So we got a more personal tour and could choose our own speed. What can I say; we are Luckett’s.

After following this boy down and around the building, we found a room full of gear… and another nice lookin’ boy. They were so kind that they already had our individual sets of gear ready and even helped us put it on correctly. Despite the fact that they do this for everyone, I couldn’t help but feel special the way Boy #2 tightened my gear to keep me extra safe. So considerate.

The four of us climbed into an open military vehicle and were transported further up the mountain. We followed the boys out of the truck and to our first sky bridge. These ten bridges throughout the tour were fun to walk across. I often stopped to look at the beautiful scenery around me, but Boy #2 skipped across the bridges making me bounce up and down on them. Oh, Boy. (Before you wonder, yes, I do know their names. I am choosing not to use them so that they will not get ridiculously embarrassed by my facetiousness.)

DSCN6126

DSCN6117

The first zip line was the most difficult to let go. At each canopy, you had to step up on a pyramid of about three steps so that our main guide, Boy #2, could properly change and connect your ropes to the line. The little step at the top of the pyramid was only about one square foot, if even that big. Also, when you stood on this pebble, your head was almost always hitting the line, but you had a magnificent view. I could never start zipping from the first step; I had to walk down the pyramid and feel the pressure of the ropes to let go.

I honestly don’t remember how long each zip line took to go across (maybe 30 seconds at most?) because I was more focused on the trees and mountains around me. I used the triangular piece at the top of my rope to steer which direction I was looking and even spun in circles at times. Often times when I was facing the direction of my choice, I let go completely. The light breeze brushing my face and entering the holes of my helmet only set the tone for the breathtaking heights and sites.

At the end of each line (aka the next canopy), Boy #1 was waiting taking photos and holding the rope that would save my life, basically. At the last canopy I asked him to show me how it worked. He applies pressure to a rope that is connected to the line in two places, one of these places being attached to a wooden block on the line. When you are within about 10-15 feet of entering the canopy, your pulley (which is keeping you connected to the cable) will hit this wooden block causing a huge CLICK sound. Boy #1’s pressure on the rope and the block will slow you down so that you don’t zip right out the other side of the canopy. Not cool. Instead you immediately slow down, enter the ramp to the canopy, step onto another (larger) pyramid, and are reconnected to other lines in the canopy.

This was the same procedure for all ten zip lines. We did have a break in the middle of the two and a half hour tour when the four of us just talked while eating bird seed brittle (incredibly chewy and sticky). Several years ago, the Amish made benches, picnic tables, and a large Jenga set for the upper and lower rest stops. Since we had a small group, we were zipping through the tour and had more time to rest. We played Jenga. Boy #1 insisted that we take a picture with it once it reached 21 levels because they had never seen it built that high before. We all thought that Mom or I would be the one to make it tumble. Instead, it was Boy #2. Ha. Ha.

DSCN6115    DSCN6116

I love to take pictures, but since Boy #1 carried a camera I could not bring my own. Instead I asked if he could take a few pictures for me. One time I thought he was going to think I was crazy. I asked if he could take a few by putting the camera immediately behind the pulley before take-off. And he did. Later when viewing our pictures over the TV in the registration area, several people admired the angle and perspective of the picture. They better not use it for a brochure or something without telling me. Anyways, I just wanted to brag for a moment.

DSCN6122

From the first minute to the last, our tour guides were friendly and very informative of the area. I would recommend zip lining to anyone, regardless of fears, strengths, age, or size. Here is the link to the place that I went but there are also a few others: http://www.bransonzipline.com/

They have a blog too: http://www.bransonziplineblog.com/

End of tour group photo

End of tour group photo

Oh yeah, and we went shopping and bought stuff, including matching shot glasses. My life.

Leave a Reply

