Summer is officially over

Well…

The past three months have been one hell of an awesome summer! I’ve basically written about it all, so I’m really not sure how to wrap it all up.

The past couple weeks I’ve just been relaxing at home and packing up for school again. I’ve tried helping my brother with college research since he is a high school senior now. I’ve tried reading a little. I finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower and absolutely loved the movie. Lots of crying, but it’s OK. It just makes me so happy. I tried putting ice cream at the bottom of my snow cone, but it just wasn’t the same. I’ve started eating more fruit at home, and less servings of everything. I’ve adjusted my lifestyle to fit who I am now.

Originally I started this blog to record my journeys this summer, and I’d say that I’ve done pretty well. There were a few times when I got behind, but I didn’t let that stop me. I got back on track to make sure I still told the whole story (well, most of the time) even when I was tired.

Sidenote: This will probably be my last post. I’m about to start school, and everyone knows I have no time for myself, let alone a blog, during the school year. That’s crazy talk. Don’t worry though, I’ll try to post something sporadically about my life, and I’ll definitely consider continuous blogging next summer as well.

I just looked back to read my first post, and some of my original schedule changed. I went to some unexpected places and experienced new things that I had no idea about three months ago. I didn’t do a few things that were planned, but that’s OK too. So many changes happened this summer, so I’m just going to ramble about that for a little bit.

I think that life is all about change. Changing others. Changing perspectives. Changing ourselves. Changing the world. I don’t want to brag, but I know that at MGS I changed at least one person’s life. It makes my heart incredibly warm to know this and makes me want to care even more about the people around me. I’ve learned about different cultures and have experienced different things. I’ve gone through a women’s leadership program that actually (contradicting my first blog) has changed my mindset about writing. I already liked to write before this summer, but now I have developed more appreciation for those who write and the importance of recording your thoughts in time. I mean, my thoughts from the beginning of this blog to now have changed so much! I write differently. I’ve developed a style, I think. I love it. Sure, sometimes I don’t have the time for it, but I’ve never forgotten about it.

I’ve changed.

As crazy as it sounds, I have. It’s one of those things that I find difficulty putting it into words. I feel truly blessed all the time, and I think about different things than I did before this summer. I communicate differently, like a lot differently. I feel connected to the world.

One of my Delta Gamma sisters (who also traveled a lot this summer) told me a few days ago that there’s a difference between a tourist and a traveler. I think it’s because these two groups of people have different motives. Tourists want to have fun and see the world, but travelers want to experience it. They want to be a part of this place, basically do what the locals do, and learn the lifestyle. I “amen”ed her immediately and felt instantly deeper connected to her. There’s something about having lots of experiences that make you more knowledgeable of the world and more relatable to people. Experience the world. Learn about it and use your knowledge to change it.

I am SO ready for school to start tomorrow. I can just feel that it’s going to be a great year. I mean, come on, I’m a junior; I’m turning 21 this year! Hollaaaaaa

Actually, I’ve been in the ‘Burg for a week now and have been trying to prepare as much as possible for this semester. My Delta Gamma sisters and I have been working hard for sorority recruitment in a few weeks. I’ve been getting organized and ready for a new year with Southern Miss Activities Council as the Vice-President. I met today for Senior Honors Orientation to talk about starting my Honors College thesis (lots of writing, yay!). What can I say? I’m growing up. I’m a big girl now. One of the “older girls” on campus, and it’s kind of scary, but isn’t that what college is about? Isn’t that what life is about?

I’m ready to do the things here that I have grown to love and with the people I have grown to love even more.

I’m also ready to scare myself and do new things that I wouldn’t normally do.

I’m ready to succeed, and I’m ready to fail.

I’m ready to take those totally bad study breaks to take time for myself and breathe. Just breathe and relax and know that everything is going to be alright 🙂

I’m ready to meet new people, and I’m ready to get closer to the girls in my member class that are living in the DG house with me this year.

I’m ready to figure out what I want to do for my thesis and as a career one day.

I’m ready to make mistakes, and I’m ready to learn from them.

I’m ready to lead, and I’m ready to follow.

Honestly, I’m ready to fall in love, whether that means more in love with the people I care most about or someone new. I have no idea!

I’m ready for God to take me by the hand and just say “Rachael, I want you to do this for me.”

I’m ready to be led one direction or called where I am needed.

I’m ready to change even more and continue to develop who I am and what I stand for.

I’m ready to explore the town I am going to school in and not just know the campus like the back of my hand.

I’m ready to be there for others.

I’m ready for a lot of work and a lot of play.

I’m ready! Junior year, let’s do this!

With love,

Luckettmenow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gyLR4NfMiI

(My best friend thought this would be a good way to close out my blogging and also get pumped for school. She was totally right.)

Leave a Reply

